HomeFitnessYoga8 Steps of Yoga Philosophy For Overall Well-Being

8 Steps of Yoga Philosophy For Overall Well-Being

Yoga Philosophy yoga mat comes to the mind. That is not your fault. It is because of the western influence over yoga and its commercialization. However, the world of yoga goes much deeper than the superficial yoga poses.

8 Simple Steps of Yoga Philosophy

These eight steps are also known as 8 limbs of yoga. Let’s have a look at the 8 simple steps of yoga philosophy that cover the entire dimension of yoga. You should practice each step and master it before moving on to the next one. Read on.

1. Yamas

Yamas yoga poses


Yamas deals with the body and its strengths. It also considers mental actions. In yoga philosophy, nothing makes sense without any boundaries, context or plurality. For instance, right or wrong, pure or impure, etc.

You can’t simply keep purity on one hand and impurity on the other. Everything needs to be aligned with your intention for perfecting it over time.

2. Niyamas

Niyamas yoga poses

When you have a better understanding of yourself, it leads to acceptance. Further, you should be aware of what you think, do, or don’t do to be happy in life. Moreover, practicing Niyamas means being mindful of your actions and inaction.

It teaches you the art of entering the spiritual zone to practice different yogic elements. You shouldn’t fight the flow, rather, to surrender is the only way to surf the ocean of life.

3. Asanas

Asanas yoga poses

One of the most misunderstood elements of yoga philosophy is the physical asana. More than physical poses, they are psychical stances that the body and soul get into for a perfect union. The hurdles that you face while practicing complex yoga asanas help you become aware and alert.

Therefore, practicing asanas give you an innate understanding of the human body. Not just the body, practicing asanas gives you access to the energy driving behind the physical structure. A yoga class is a perfect place to learn and practice asanas. You should definitely join a 200 hour yoga teacher training in India to master asanas.

4. Pranayama

Pranayama yoga practice

The essence of everything presiding over this planet and beyond is breath, life force, or energy. Practicing Pranayama gives you a deeper understanding of the functioning of breath. You can use this pure energy to see beyond what your eyes can witness.

Furthermore, practicing Pranayama refreshes the autonomic Nervous System that extends your lifespan. Regularly practicing Pranayama helps you enter the mindless space with laser focus.

5. Pratyahara

Pratyahara yoga

Pratyahara deals with reverting back from things that you love or that gives you pleasure. It is one of the hardest elements of yoga philosophy to practice. But, the best thing about Pratyahara is that it restricts the practitioner from wanting external things. For instance, wanting more and more sex, drugs, alcohol, smoking, and what not.

The goal of practicing Pratyahara is to move back to the basics. Moreover, it talks about cultivating bliss and love within your heart. Enrolling in a yoga teacher training course is going to help you master the practice of Pratyahara.

6. Dharana

dharana yoga paractice

The art of focusing on a single entity rather than taking plenty of things at once is Dharana. In yogic philosophy, Dharana deals with pure consciousness or presence. The best quality of Dharana is it flushes out mud, toxins, or negative ailments from your identity.

As a result, you gain pure awareness or truth. Hence, you stay away from multitasking which saves your energy and helps you develop concentration on a single thing at a time. Guided meditation in a yoga class is a perfect example of strong focus.

7. Dhyana Virasana

Dhyana Virasana yoga poses

Dhyana Virasana also stands for meditation practice. Practicing meditation takes you into the realm of thoughtlessness. Moreover, meditation practice gives you the access to the observer’s mind in which involuntary actions take place.

Hence, Dhyana practice is important to help you master the art of thinking. In short, meditation practice help you merge with the reality at hand without hampering your normal mental mechanisms.

8. Samadhi

The last stage of yoga philosophy is the attainment of Samadhi or enlightenment. It is the realization of the existence of no ‘I’ in the reality. Moreover, the attainment of Samadhi makes you one with yourself and nature. In the yoga philosophy class of 300 hour yoga teacher training in India , venerable yoga masters guide and teach you about Samadhi. So, make sure you join a course and get the most out of it.


Yoga and its philosophy cannot be comprehended in a single lifetime. However, that does not mean you shouldn’t try it. All you need is consistent yoga practice, dedication, willpower, and a perfect guide. For guide, you should join a yoga course. Rest you need to develop consistent practice. Over time, you’ll master all the eight steps of yoga philosophy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular